Mathematical Sciences

Agriculture Academy Library
+370 37 752304, 2304

Make an appointment
ilma.marcinkeviciene@vdu.lt

Mathematics
Data science
Dynamic systems
Econometrics
Mathematical modeling
Operations research
Probability theories
Risk assessment

Final theses are prepared according to the IEEE citation style.
 
Description of the use of text generated by the GDI tool according to IEEE citation style.

Research Assistant VL	An AI tool that uses large language models (LLMs). Allows to explore academic content, analyzes a large portion of the information resources indexed in the Virtual Library and selects five documents that may be most useful. For more information, click here.
ChatGPT	An AI language model that generates human-like responses to queries. It can be used to create teaching materials, personalize the learning process and develop students critical thinking skills. The free version has limitations (e.g., limited DALL-E – a model for translating text into images – functions), while the paid version provides access to the latest and more powerful models (e.g., GPT-5 Pro) and faster response generation.
Elicit	An AI research assistant that helps review literature and academic works, systematize data, automate article selection and extract data. The free version offers unlimited searches, summaries and reports (up to 4 documents at a time), while in the paid "Plus" / "Pro" versions, the number of abstracts increases to 8 documents at a time and unlimited export of data tables to CSV/BIB/RIS formats, more detailed document previews and notifications with the latest information on research in the selected field are also provided.
Gemini	An AI language model that generates human-like responses to queries. "Deep Research" allows you to browse websites, analyze information and create detailed reports, while "Gemini Live" allows you to create learning plans, topic summaries and practice presentations. The paid versions, "Google AI Pro" and "Google AI Ultra", provide access to the more powerful "2.5 Pro" model, more accurate and faster "Deep Research", video generation with "Veo 3" and more options with the "NotebookLM" research and writing assistant.
Keenious	An AI academic research tool designed to help students and researchers find scientific literature. It analyzes the uploaded document and, using interdisciplinary methods, recommends similar or related scientific articles. Provides access to more than 250 million academic works. The free version provides access to all search results and unlimited chats, while the paid version provides full access with a university or organization license (access for students/employees, interface with library resources, training and webinars offered).
Litmaps	A tool for scientific literature research. Creates a visual map of academic literature, finds related sources on a selected topic from more than 270 million resources. The free version provides access to basic search, up to 20 queries and 2 visual maps, while the paid "Pro" and "Teams" versions offer advanced search and an unlimited number of articles and visual maps to analyze.
Perplexity	AI search engine and chatbot. Provides links to sources used for the answer and related thematic questions. The free version offers basic search, limited "Pro" and file upload features (up to 3 files per day), while the paid version provides access to more powerful AI models, unlimited visual generation, file uploads and analysis.
Research Rabbit	AI tool for academic research and literature reviews. Categorizes academic works into thematic sections (collections), creates an interactive visual map based on the selected topic and shows citation tendencies for academic works. All available features are free of charge.
SciSpace	AI assistant that helps manage, write and publish academic works, analyze and visualize data and create websites or presentations.  The free version offers up to 30 query views, 5 bibliography downloads, suggestions and integrated spell checking, while the paid versions, "Researcher" and "Teams", offer unlimited queries and downloads, security and faster support.
Scite	An AI platform that helps researchers better discover and understand research articles using smart citations. Evaluates the reliability and impact of scientific articles, discovers important and contradictory evidence, improves research results. The free version offers a DI assistant function, full-text search, citation reports, while the paid version provides full access with a university or organization license (more powerful DI models and their capabilities, data export and analysis, higher security and confidentiality levels).
Semantic Scholar	An AI academic research search engine that uses machine learning to identify connections, relevance and key findings in scientific articles. All available features are free of charge.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)   
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics and more.

ACM Digital Library  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics and informatics.

Cambridge Core  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics and informatics. List of subscribed journals

Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)   
Database providing access to academic e-journals and e-books in various topics, including mathematics and informatics. Registration required.

Ebook Central (Academic Complete)  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics and informatics and more.

eBooks on ScienceDirect  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics.

EBSCO eBook Open Access Collection       
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics.

Electronic Library of Mathematics  
Electronic Library containing online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics, algebra, geometry.

Emerald Management eJournals Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

FreeTechBooks.com  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics.

getfreeebooks  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics, engineering and technical science.

IEEE Open Access  
Collection includes a selection of open access articles from hybrid titles.

InTech  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, compiuter science, informatics, engineering and technical science, technologies.

JSTOR  
Multi-disciplinary database including where you will find scientific publications about mathematics topics. Subscribed Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV collections. List of subscribed journals.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)  
Multi-disciplinary database including where you will find scientific articles about mathematics topics.

Oxford Journals Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

SAGE Journals Online  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

ScienceDirect  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. Subscribed journals Freedom Collection. Some resources have open access.

Springer Journals  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

Taylor & Francis  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, statistics, informatics. List of subscribed journals. VGTU published journals are open access and available online.

VilniausTech e-books  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, statistics, informatics.

Zentralblatt MATH  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, statistics, informatics.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

Engineering mathematics
Stroud, K. A., Booth, D. J., Macmillan International Higher Education: Red Globe Press (2020).

Calculus problem solutions with MATLAB
Xue, D., De Gruyter : Tsinghua University Press. (2020).
 
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)   
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics.

BoonBook.com  
Multi-disciplinary book collection including mathematics sciences.

eBookDirectory   
Directory of free eBooks.

Ebook Central (Academic Complete)  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics, communication and etc.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)       
Catalogue containing full-text e-books from academic publishers, among which Vytautas Magnus University Press as well. Topics include mathematical sciences.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics. List of subscribed e-books.

EBSCO eBook Open Access Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics science, informatics.

eBooks on ScienceDirect  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics.

getfreeebooks  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, compiuter science, informatics, engineering and technical science.

The Global Text Project  
A library of open access textbooks and out-of-print books with open licenses.

InTech  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics science, informatics, engineering and technical science, technologies etc.

KTU eBooks  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics studies, informatics, engineering. List of e-books.

VilniusTech eBooks  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics science, informatics, programming, engineering. List of e-books.

Vilnius University eBooks  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematical science studies. Instruction.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

Searching for journals in the VMU virtual library

Search for journal articles in the VMU Research Management System (VMU CRIS)

Searching for newspapers in the virtual library
 
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)    
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics.

ACM Digital Library  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics science, informatics.

British Journal of Applied Science and Technology  
Technology and science electronic journal where you will find a variety of articles, reviews, and reports on a variety of topics in mathematics science, statistics, informatics, medicine, and more.

Cogprints  
Multi-disciplinary article archive including various information in the field of  mathematics and computer science (eg Artificial Intelligence, Robotics, Learning, Programming).

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)   
Directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary journals. Topics include mathematics, compiuter science, informatics.

Electronic Library of Mathematics  
Electronic Library containing online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics, algebra, geometry.

Electronic Journals Library   
E-journals library including mathematics, algebra, geometry, compiuter science and informatics.

Emerald Management eJournals Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

Hindawi  
Multi-disciplinary database including where you will find information and publications about mathematics.

Informatica  
Journal of informatics, published by the Institute of Mathematics and Informatics and Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.

Informatics in Education: an International Journal  
Journal of informatics and education, published by the Institute of Mathematics and Informatics and Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.

Mathematics  
Journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to mathematics.

Science - Future of Lithuania  
Journal of informatics and more science education, published by the Vilnius Tech University.

Oxford Journals Collection  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

Project Euclid  
Platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals. Over 70% of journal articles hosted on Project Euclid are openly available.

SAGE Journals Online  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. List of subscribed journals.

ScienceDirect  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics. Subscribed journals Freedom Collection. Some resources have open access.

Science Advances  
Scientific journal published by American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in different fields including mathematic.

Springer Journals  
Multi-disciplinary database including artificial intelligence, mathematics, mathematical programming, computer networks. List of subscribed 2048 journals, archive.

SpringerOpen  
Collection includes Open Access articles provided by Springer.

Taylor & Francis  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, statistics, informatics. List of subscribed journals. VGTU published journals are open access and available online.

Wiley Online Library  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, applied mathematics, informatics. List of e-journals. Access to 1700 Wiley journals in all subject areas till 23 September, 2020.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

Daugiakalbis informatikos ir matematikos žodynas  
Dictionary of mathematics and computer science in various languages.

Dictionary.com  
A digital dictionary that also includes mathematical terms.

Encyclopaedia Britannica 
Encyclopaedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language online encyclopaedia.

Thesaurus.com 
General vocabulary indicating semantic word connections.

Universal Lithuanian Encyclopedia  
Digital version of Universal Lithuanian encyclopedia.

Walfram MathWorld  
The most comprehensive mathematics reference book, where you will find useful information when studying mathematical sciences.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

VMU ETD  
University master theses, doctoral dissertations and their summaries in VMU Research Management System (VMU CRIS).

eLABa ETD  
Final theses and doctoral dissertations of Lithuanian higher education institutions in the Lithuanian e-academic library.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) 
One of the largest search engines performing search in open access scholarly resources.

DOAB (Directory of Open access Books) 
Catalogue containing full-text e-books from academic publishers, among which Vytautas Magnus University Press as well. Topics include mathematics, informatics.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) 
Directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary journals. Topics include mathematical sciences.

FreeFullPDF  
Multi-disciplinary database including mathematics, informatics.

Google Scholar 
Search engine providing search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

Lithuanian Academic Electronic Library (eLABa) 
Scientific publications, dissertations and final theses of Lithuanian scientific institutions. Some of the works have an embargo period.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)    
Quality-assured global directory of academic repositories.

ScienceResearch.com 
Scientific information search system covering a wide range of topics, including mathematics.

Science - Future of Lithuania  
An e-journal published by Vilnius Tech University, where you will find articles about computer science, mathematics, engineering, economics, etc.

WorldWideScience.org 
Global search engine for national and international scientific databases and websites.

= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled

= Images
= Video files
= Audio file

arXiv  
An open-access repository of electronic preprints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review. Scientific papers in the different fields including mathematics.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal  
E-theses and dissertations containing over 800,000 open access papers from 619 universities in 28 European countries.

DataCite  
DataCite support researchers by helping them to find, identify, and cite research datasets. It assigns persistent identifiers to citable datasets.

ELibM  
A repository of mathematical science information, where you will find scientific publications on mathematical topics.

European Mathematical Society 
The European Mathematical Society is a European organization dedicated to the development of mathematics in Europe.

International Mathematical Union 
The International Mathematical Union is an international non-governmental organization devoted to international cooperation in the field of mathematics across the world.

Kanopy  
Video streaming platform. Among topics – new technologies, artificial intelligence, statistics, etc.

Lietuvos matematikų draugija 
Lithuanian Mathematical Society stimulated the mathematical activities in Lithuania.

Mathematics  
Journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to mathematics.

National Academic Press  
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine offer more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.

Open Dissertations (EBSCO Publishing)  
Final theses of world science and study institutions.

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA)  
Oxford scientific institutional repository.

Project Euclid  
Platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals. Over 70% of journal articles hosted on Project Euclid are openly available.

Registry of Open Access Repositories ROAR  
Quality-assured global directory of academic repositories. Topics include mathematics and informatics.